Can the STRCPYSCN command be used to Scrape Info from AS400 Screen

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can the STRCPYSCN command be used to Scrape Info from AS400 Screen

I am a AS400 newbie, and I want to know if I could use the STRCPYSCN command to Scrape Info from AS400 Screen. I want to automate the process of copying Spool Files to a Shared Folder, and the CPYSPLF command requires certain information about the Spool File (such as User Name, Job Name, etc.)

Client Access is being used, and the PCOMM emulator is also being used. I have never used STRCPYSCN, but hopefully I can get some help from someone on this.

Many Thanks
    Al Rice

First, IBM stopped making the AS/400 last century, so that term obsolete.

According to the InfoCenter (https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledg.../strcpyscn.htm), that command is used for one 5250 screen to view another 5250 screen. Are you trying to access a different 5250 job? It sounds to me like you want to screen-scrape the current 5250 job, which would be something different.

HTH

Comment

If you could supply more details on what you are trying to achieve, we might be able to assist you better. If all you are wanting to do is copy a report, STRCPYSCN seems a very bad choice. Where do the reports come from? What determines if they should be copied? etc.

Comment

Thanks to those who responded, so far. As additional background, I have a recurring (daily) need to copy some 40, or so, spool files (txt reports) to a Shared Folder in Windows such that these spool files (txt reports) are accessible to a Data Analytics tool (Monarch). I am using the CPYSPLF command to copy these spool files to a Physical File and then using CPYTOIMPF to copy the Physical File the Shared Folder.