Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• best practice for code separation

Hi all

i'm looking for examples/suggestion for best practice for NOT mixing Php, Html, css ecc. in the same file so that to keep them separated. Can some one suggest some link or better shows the own experience ?

Thanks in advace

Re: best practice for code separation

Personally, I rarely output HTML from a program these days. I'm typically outputting JSON (or, less frequently, XML) data that's interpreted by a client-side framework.

Comment

Hi Scott

many thanks for you reply/suggestion. As i'm quite new to PHP and web application, can you suggest me some link/tutorial that introduce you tecnique "outputting JSON (or, less frequently, XML) data that's interpreted by a client-side framework"

Thanks in advance

Comment

Err... which framework are you using? They're all different. And, I'm not familiar with all of them!

Seems like this is sufficiently simple that once you know the framework, outputting JSON or XML is pretty trivial?

Comment

Hi
          as i said this are my fisrst steps in web application; so are all new arguments. For the framework i though to use jQuery (it seems the most popular !!??) .
          If you or other can susggest me some link/tutorial for try simple example i would be gratefull.

Thanks in advance

Comment

The simplest way to separate them for a basic page is to keep the HTML in one file and the PHP in another. This will give you the basic idea (it has _not_ been tested):

Script.php
            PHP Code:
            <?php
            $a 
            "My Name";
            $b 123.45;

include 
            MyHtml.html
            ?>
            MyHtml.html
            HTML Code:
            <html><body> etc.

<p>This html text is being enhanced by a php script. For example my name is: <?php echo $a; ?> and I earn the magnificent sum of $<php echo $b; ?> per week.</p>

etc. etc.