System/36 Environment and QTEMP library

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• System/36 Environment and QTEMP library

I posted this in the Freshers since it is not specifically a programming issue but a configuration issue and because I am new to the System/36 Environment.

I have a client who is running their system using the System/36 special environment. I have very little experience with this environment. The issue I have trying to deal with is as follows.

There were very close to running out of space on their machine and I found that they had one file in QS36f that was 55% of the disk space. After investigation of how the file was used I found that it was a work file that was being duplicated to QTEMP and then the qtemp version was to be populated with about 28000 records. The problem is that at some point someone removed QTEMP from the library lists of the jobs. And over time the file in QS36F grew as a program ran. I have cleared the file in QS36F and the programs are running fine except the file in just over one day now has 2.5 million records.

The QSYSLIBL system value is QSYS, QSYS2, QHLPSYS, QUSRSYS and the QUSRLIBL system value is ITSGPL, QGPL. The user profiles specify a current library of CRTDFT, no initial program and a jobd of QDFTJOBD. The QDFTJOBD says to use the *SYSVAL for the library list.

When the users sign on they have a library list as follows. It appears the the setting of the Current library and the adding of the #LIBRARY, QSSP, and QS36F are added by the System/36 Environemnt Attributes.

Library Type
    QSYS SYS
    QSYS2 SYS
    QHLPSYS SYS
    QUSRSYS SYS
    ITSNEW CUR
    #LIBRARY USR
    QSSP USR
    QS36F USR
    ITSGPL USR
    QGPL USR

I would like to return QTEMP to the library lists, but if I add it to the top of user portion of the library list it be below the QS36F library when the user signs on and I need it above QS36F. I may also need it above the Current library too.