Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Display records from a Physical File

Hello all,
    Can some one help me in writing a RPGLE program for displaying all the data of the physical file.

RPGLE program i tried:
    FPF9 IF E DISK
    DDS1 DS LIKEREC(RPF9)
    C *loval SETLL RPF9 90
    C READ PF9 ds1
    C DOW *in90 = *off
    C ds1 DSPLY
    C READ PF9 ds1
    C ENDDO
    C IF *in90 = *on
    C 'END' DSPLY
    C ENDIF
    C SETON LR

Its not working, please help me correct the code as i am new to RPG

Regards
    Nilesh

Re: Display records from a Physical File

this does not affect function , but don't do it; Read and Chain to file names, dont use the record format for this. Record formats should only be used for write / Update / Delete.

you need a 90 on the read line. You only have it on the setll (which you dont need) so it does not change. Your loop will not exit. the 'end' will only display if the 90 at the setll was turned on.
    Hunting down the future ms. Ex DeadManWalks. *certain restrictions apply

Comment

I followed your suggestion, but still the error stating loval shouldnot be used.

New code i tried was.
      FPF9 IF E DISK
      DDS1 DS LIKEREC(RPF9)
      C *loval SETLL PF9
      C READ PF9 ds1 90
      C DOW *in90 = *off
      C ds1 DSPLY
      C READ PF9 ds1 90
      C ENDDO
      C IF *in90 = *on
      C 'END' DSPLY
      C ENDIF
      C SETON LR

Please advice

Comment

I have no idea what the DS1 is for on the read line.

Comment

Originally posted by DeadManWalks View Post
          this does not affect function , but don't do it; Read and Chain to file names, dont use the record format for this. Record formats should only be used for write / Update / Delete.

you need a 90 on the read line. You only have it on the setll (which you dont need) so it does not change. Your loop will not exit. the 'end' will only display if the 90 at the setll was turned on.