Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Monitoring a Library size.

Hi,

I've just joined the forum and I find it really interesting... even though I'm just a System Administrator trying to learn some programming.
    I need to monitor a Library and I thought about creating a CL program executing this:
    DSPOBJD OBJ(SMZ4DTA/*ALL) +
    OBJTYPE(*ALL) +
    OUTPUT(*OUTFILE) +
    OUTFILE(QTEMP/Library) +

And then execute the SQL statement with RUNSQL:

select sum(ODBPUN * ODSIZU) from library

this gives me the size of the library...
    Now, what I'm having trouble with is trying to get the value calculated by the SQL statement into a variable so I can monitor the size.
    I thought about creating a database using SQL statements and then doing a RCVF to get the value but I'm not sure.
    All suggestions and ideas are welcome.
    Thanks!!!

Re: Monitoring a Library size.

why dont you do a receive file on the table you created with the dspobjd?
    All my answers were extracted from the "Big Dummy's Guide to the As400"
    and I take no responsibility for any of them.

www.code400.com

Comment

Thanks for the idea!!! I didn't saw it that way, I was all focused on using SQL and forgot that I could actually process the table by just using CL. I will give it a try.
      Thanks again!!!

Comment

If you already think about using RUNSQL, then you might use it to create a VIEW over QTEMP/Library. Create the VIEW to run the sum(ODBPUN * ODSIZU) function and to CAST() it to a useful data type. Your CL would then become the DSPOBJD command followed by RUNSQL to set the VIEW and a RCVF to read the single row from the view. A DCLF would also be needed and you'd probably want to compile it interactively in order to have the VIEW available.

However, the Retrieve Library Description (QLIRLIBD) API can return size information more directly. It's both more and less complicated to use, depending on what makes sense to you and what obstacles you run into.