ibmi-brunch-learn

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

WRKDBF on V6R1 not working - Alternate utility??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WRKDBF on V6R1 not working - Alternate utility??

I have been using WRKDBF for 5 years. Now official dead for V6R1 unless you pay a hefty price $499.

Is there an alternate utility available? I can use SQL for insert,update and delete.

There may be a way to overcome this problem by writing some programs using API. I just don't know what API I have to use.

Please help!

Thanks.

Re: WRKDBF on V6R1 not working - Alternate utility??

I've never seen that command before. I usually use SQL or occasionally a bit of DFU. Out of interest I just tried it on one of our files with a large varying length string field. These always come unstuck in DFU and so it seems with WRKDBF. SQL is the only way I know of to work with every file.
    Ben

Comment

DBU is a great utility that does what WRKDBF does and more. However, its also a hefty price tag.

Comment

Actually, WRKDBF is $449 and I don't consider that to be expensive, especially for the productivity gains alone.

Old unsupported free version:
        Jonas Temple
        Got FROG?
        Got Tadpole? No, because it's not done yet! Stay tuned....

01010111 01100001 01110011 01110011 01110101 01110000 00100000 01100100 01101111 01100111 00111111

Comment

A little late I guess, but WRKDBF is still working on V6R1.
          You just have to install UNDEL II that Dave McKenzie wrote.
          As I recall - it can be found here:http://think400.dk/files/undel2_2.0.6.zip readme.txt
          Pls. read the 'ReadMe'
          Leif
          Attached Files

Comment

I know old post just wanted to add info for those using UPDDTA!!!

also CGIDEV2 has a WRKDBF
            IBM i RPG developers may very easily create web sites by using Easy400.net tools. Remote support is provided.

jamie
            All my answers were extracted from the "Big Dummy's Guide to the As400"