Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Capturing job log information on a text file

Hello.
    First of all, I am not a programmer, so what I'm looking for is some sort of guidance with a project I have.
    I know AS/400 from a user/administrative perspective but I have been asked to come up with a way to export the start and end times of jobs running in QBATCH subsystem to a flat file that then can be exported to a document such as a spreasheet. This is to reflect the times both start, end and the obtain the elapsed time for a series of jobs that run in a daily basis.

Since I have no prior programming experience on RPG or COBOL or the sort, I have no clue on how to do this (well, so maybe someone can start by recommending me to study programming in this environment but I would like to take that approach only if necessary)
    I have tools such as the entire IBM ISeries Access for Windows kit (That comes with a green screen 5250 emulator and Windows Navigator interface) but cannot seem to find a way to do that here.
    If I could only find a way to capture the start and end times of jobs (from job log) and export that information to a file, that's basically all I need.

Any one has any idea? Maybe someone can even refer me to a proper forum.
    Thanks a lot for any help.....In advance.

Regards,
    Oscar

Re: Capturing job log information on a text file

Try reading the QHST logs from QSYS, and look for messages CPF1124 and CPF1164 (start and end of jobs), write this out to an outfile.
    Additional information can be gained by calling API's for the job/number/user as pulled from the CPF messages.

We have a bit of code somewhere . . . it's a bit messy though, will see about tidying it up.

GC
    Greg Craill: "Life's hard - Get a helmet !!"

Comment

thanks Gcraill.
      Now, how can I read the QHST logs from QSYS?