ibmi-brunch-learn

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Easy-Stored Proc on AS400- (New to AS400)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Easy-Stored Proc on AS400- (New to AS400)

I'm new to AS400. I'm a SQL Server database user but new at my job and we use both AS400 and SQL Server...

My manager wans to use stored procedures on AS400 just like stored procedures in SQL Server.

Any links or examples on how to create a stored procedure on AS400? For example, in SQL Server, I open up the Query Analyzer and just start coding my Stored Proc. How would I do that in AS400?

(google has tons of info on sql server stuff but hard to find info on AS400).

Any good tutorials/info to get me familiar with AS400?

Thanks.

Re: Easy-Stored Proc on AS400- (New to AS400)

Im working on an example right now....I will post indetail this evening.

take care & welcome to code400
    jamie
    All my answers were extracted from the "Big Dummy's Guide to the As400"
    and I take no responsibility for any of them.

www.code400.com

Comment

Thank you so much. Looking forward to seeing the example..

Not sure why my manager is making such a big deal out of stored procedures on AS400 because SPs aren't a big deal in SQL Server...

One thing he mentions (i'm new at this job) and since I'm new to AS400..let me ask you guys:

My manager wants to keep the "data library" separate from the "stored procedure library". Somehow, he thinks the main library/database and stored procedures cannot co-exist. Is that true in AS400??

for example, in SQL Server...we can have the database/library that contains the tables/files, stored procs, views, user defined functions, etc. Nothing has to be separate. I would think that in AS400...the main database where data resides should be able to keep and have stored procs. No need to create a whole new database/library just to keep stored procs. Right?

Comment

Hi,