Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about JDBC?

Hi,

I'm new in Java and read some articles mentioned that by using the JDBC driver in AS400 can connect to the MS SQL Server 2005 (which is sitting on WS2003 box).

We add a trigger in one of the physical file, what we want is when the update trigger was fired, then would like to update the SQL Table on the MS SQL server based on the value that changed on the AS400 table.

How hard will that be regarding the JDBC part or JAVA prorgram to do this. Also, how can I check if our iSeries is JAVA installed? any command that I can test it out?

Thanks for the help!

Re: Question about JDBC?

To see if you have the java developement kit installed on your iseries type:

Go licpgm
    Option 10 - Display installed licensed programs.
    Look for 5722JV1 - Developer Kit for java

Or you could go into QSHELL by typing QSH from a command line and type the following:

java -version

if its installed you will se a response similar to the following:

> java -version
    java version "1.3.1"
    $

Writing the code to update a remote location via jdbc is not difficult.

However, I strongly recommend that you issue your code in a batch process. You do not want your trigger hanging while your java code updates a remote location. I think the best option is to submit a batch job from your trigger.

If I find a few minutes I will post some sample code.
    Last edited by kpmac; June 26, 2006, 11:35 AM.
    Predictions are usually difficult, especially about the future. ~Yogi Berra

Vertical Software Systems
    VSS.biz

Comment

Yes Kpmac,

Tested and the JAVA is installed version show 1.3.1.

Does it means the JDBC driver is installed as well? YES, the trigger will call a CALL then submit a job to update the table.

If you can give me some sample to start with and test it out.

Thanks a lot !

Originally posted by kpmac
      To see if you have the java developement kit installed on your iseries type:

Go licpgm