Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• procedures and /Copy

/Copy for PI and PR statements

Hi all. I need some expert advice on procedures. From what I have read we have to have a PI statment in a (sub)procedure and a PR statement with the same parms in the calling program (Main procedure?) I have also seen suggestions to use /Copy to replicate these in the code.
    My question is this: If I create a member to be used by the /Copy that only has the parameters listed, no PI or PR line in it. Then can I code just a PR line in the main procedure followed by /Copy to get the parms in there and in the subprocedure just code a PI line followed by the /Copy?
    I would like to do this so if the parms should change for any reason I can just change them in the copy member and recompile anything using them instead of having to go into each procedure and change them. I am new to procedures so it is all still a little fuzzy to me but this seems to make sense from a maintenance standpoint.

angel

Can you take a look at this. I think this is what you want.

Let me know

Jimmy

Comment

Close, but ...

Thanks, I had read that post and it is close to what I am asking but...