This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with AS/400 csv file processing

not sure if this is the proper thread to put this but here we go....

I am a total noob when comes to as/400. I come from .NET C# windows development but need to leanr RPG IV/LIE and I am learning on the job.
    IBM is totally foreign to me. currently I am going through self learning course from ATS (audio and books system IBM certified)
    I decided to try and recreate some of the automation processes I had setup in DOS/Windows/SQL server for internal file processing, as a way to see how things work in real life as opposed to what is in the book. I do learn better when I solve real world problems.

so here is the scenario:

1. I have a set of batch files and SQL stored procedures setup to process/transform incoming CSV files into different format csv files that later get imported into IBM system(since the import into IBM is not yet working there is nothing to break at the moment)
    what the process entails :

A. a batch script set on timer in windows server go to client FTP every 15 min and picks up any and all CSV files it can find in the folder (the location is login based . the login gets you into main folder, than cds into ..\live\orders\ folder and mget all files locally)

B. when ftp process is done, batch process gets a listing of the current folder and outputs it into text file ("dir /a /b >> allfoundfiles.txt")
    C. than batch calls anouther batch that creates and executes the ftp script using "allfoundfiles.txt" as input to move all files that have been downloaded
    into processed folder on the remote server. reason for doing it this way is to ensure that if any new files have been created in between the time that mget
    was called and now they will remain in the folder on the server and will be processed in 15 min. so the ftp script is based on individual file name.