Data transfer from outside source

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Data transfer from outside source

Please forgive me if this is in the wrong section.
    I am new to AS400. I have a following project:

We are Kitchen cabinetry manufacturer. Distributors sitting outside of our network are using a proprietary CAD software on Windows PCs. When they are done with their CAD design, they launch a utility that allows them to export their item list along with another necessary information to an XML file. That XML file gets loaded into another Windows based program where they do additional data finessing that initially will become a Purchase Order.
    Next step is where we have a problem. How to get that data to us and in what format?
    We have iSeries 5.4 on our AS400 with WebSpehere. How do I transfer data to AS400? Do I have to create an FTP server, and then create a tunnel through my firewall? In that case, how do I create an FTP server on iSeries? If not, what are other ways of doing this?
    Do, I send the data in XML format and have a programmer work with it?

If you can shed some light, that would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you

Re: Data transfer from outside source

you could map a drive to the IFS, FTP (no need to install a server, just STRTCPSVR *FTP is sufficient).

the data can be processed directly from the IFS as an XML file, or you can stick it into a flat file, etc. your choice (go with the direct XML...but that's just my opinion)
    I'm not anti-social, I just don't like people -Tommy Holden

Comment

Mike,

I don't think I'd want anyone from the outside having FTP access to my production box....

Many years ago we had a filemaker app that would create orders in XML/csv (cant remember) and email them to a specific
      email address..... (back then it was a linux box) the email attachment was removed, processed and then
      placed on the IFS (Iseries) (shared drive of iseries mapped on server)..