Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ILE Level breaks

Hi all,
    I'm new to RPGLE (not Free) and I was wondering; how do you control processing with level breaks so as to still use the RPG cycle?

With RPG, you just added input specs with the break level. I can't seem to find a way to do this now in RPGLE and internet searching gave examples related to building complex subroutines and save fields. Really! Can't be. There has to be a more suitable code method than that which follows the RPGLE design.

Red

Everyday's a school day, what grade are you in?

Something like this

Code:
    FYOURFILE  IP   E           K DISK

IYOURFILE  
    I                                          STATE         L2
    I                                          CITY          L1

C   L2                CALLP          FIRSTSTATE
    C   L1                CALLP          FIRSTCITY
    C                     CALLP          DETAIL
    CL1                   CALLP          LASTCITY
    CL2                   CALLP          LASTSTATE

Comment

Originally posted by redvan View Post
      Hi all,
      I'm new to RPGLE (not Free) and I was wondering; how do you control processing with level breaks so as to still use the RPG cycle?

With RPG, you just added input specs with the break level. I can't seem to find a way to do this now in RPGLE and internet searching gave examples related to building complex subroutines and save fields. Really! Can't be. There has to be a more suitable code method than that which follows the RPGLE design.
      You do it the exact same way as with RPG II or RPG III. The manual has examples.

Comment

You could write a small RPG program that uses level breaks in the way you want and then use the CVTRPGSRC command to convert the RPG source to RPGLE. Then you can see how to do the level break coding in RPGLE.

Comment