the STUPID "An assignment operator is expected with the EVAL operation."

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• the STUPID "An assignment operator is expected with the EVAL operation."

It looks like this error is popping up when it wants to and goes away when it wants to. I have been struggling with this error ever since I started learning rpgle. When I go into the program and change some lines, it throws this error. While the error is still present, I save the program and exit out. I go back in, THE ERROR IS GONE. If I go to the line of error and put a space in it, the error appears again. So over the past few months or so, I've learned to ignore this error because it seems like the program does fine in compiling and running even with this error. It does not create any sev 10+ errors and it does not appear in my spool file report. I am having this error again but this time, it is labeled as a sev 30 error and I just about had enough of it. So I ask the question: what is this error and why does this happen only sometimes, how do I get rid of it????

"Popping up" where? In the editor? In which case _which_ editor. In the compiler listing?

The usual cause of this (when it is a real error) is a missing semi-colon at the end of the previous line or something equally silly.

I have never seen it "popping up" randomly and disappearing with no source changes made.

Comment

Originally posted by JonBoy View Post
      "Popping up" where? In the editor? In which case _which_ editor. In the compiler listing?

The usual cause of this (when it is a real error) is a missing semi-colon at the end of the previous line or something equally silly.

I have never seen it "popping up" randomly and disappearing with no source changes made.

it is popping up inside the program. so
      for example: DCL-S x packed(2:0);