First program task, completly in the dark

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First program task, completly in the dark

I am currently an overnight operator and was given the option to learn to code RPG with the promise of a jr. programming position. My first task is to develop a way to collect all error messages requiring a response that occur and to record the error response and who responded. It might not be a difficult task but RPG is ...strange. Can someone please give me advice on how to start this project? I am a complete RPG noob so any help is appreciated.

Congrats on working for a company that's willing to develop its in-house talent.

I'm not clear on which error messages you're referring to, but if it's messages hitting QSYSOPR, you may find that a CL program would be more appropriate. In general, I think delving into CL programming, which uses many of the same commands with which you're likely already familiar, is probably a better way forward, assuming you're new to development in general.

Cheers,

Emmanuel

Comment

Are you looking to retrieve the QSYSOPR messages?

What skills do you have? Do you know how to open a source member?

I suggest you do what EmmanuelW1 said. You can do this in CL, you can get to RPG later.

1. Find your CL source file. Usually called QCLSRC.
      2. Scan on RCVMSG. You may have a good example to review that you can use as a starting point.

Post questions as you go. This group is loaded with developers willing to help.

You may be nervous, but jump in. It is the best way to learn.

Comment

First, what is your OS version? The more recent RPG syntax might look more familiar, depending on what programming background you have. This task could introduce you to a number of RPG facilities, even though doing it with CL might be more common for operations staff.