How do I secure socket output?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I secure socket output?

I have a program that uses socket API's to send a file. I have been asked to make this transmission secure. How do I accomplish this? I have limited experience working with certificates.

Thank you.

This is the HTTP forum, which makes me think you've written an HTTP client or server using the socket API. Is that correct? (You haven't provided very much information.)

If so, the way that HTTP is usually secured is by using the TLS (more commonly known as "SSL") protocol. You mention certificates... x.509 certificates are used as part of TLS/SSL, which makes me think that might be what you're thinking about?

What programming language are you working in?

Is there a reason you want to write this yourself rather than using one of the zillion or so existing implementations of HTTP?

Comment

Thank you Scott for your response.

I wrote the program following the examples in your RPG IV Socket Tutorial. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

After posting my question I learned about the SSL_API's, and it looks like they will give me what I am looking for.

If I were doing it today I would use your HTTPAPI, and I might end up re-doing it. But that will have an impact on the folks that retrieve the data and I am trying to consider all alternatives.

I apologize if I posted this on the wrong forum. Please let me know the correct one.

Comment

Originally posted by LBurkett99 View Post
        ...that will have an impact on the folks that retrieve the data and I am trying to consider all alternatives.
        Another forum might be better, but it's unlikely that you'll get better answers. Best answers are likely to come from the same members regardless. I'd think that the biggest impact might be on future members searching for related info.