PF, Data Organization, and Reorganization

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PF, Data Organization, and Reorganization

I am new to iSeries, so I apologize if these question are trivial.

I have read that data is written to physical files in arrival sequence order, even if it is a keyed PF. My question is does new data continue to be added to the end of the file in arrival sequence order even after the file has compressed been reorganized on the key or based on a keyed LF?

I have read that the idea of data ordered by a 'clustering' index/key isn't necessary on iseries because the data is spread across many disks. I believe data is read and written in pages, so this doesn't make sense to me. If 95% of the access to the PF is through one keyed logical file, it would seem the data should be organized by the key. The next row to be returned by the index should be on the same page, or next page whichever disk it may be on. Is my thinking wrong here?

I appreciate your insight, and thank you in advance!!

Scott

Hello,

Data is not necessarily written in arrival sequence. It is written wherever there is space to write it. So if your PF has deleted records in it and you've defined your file to re-use those deleted records, it will write to the first available spot. If not, it is written at the end of the data. Rest assured that when you retrieve it in the proper order, and very efficiently. The only reason it'd retrieve in arrival sequence would be if you explicitly told it to not use the key (in native i/o -- I don't think this is even possible in SQL)