Drawer Pulls & Paper Stock

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drawer Pulls & Paper Stock

I'm an RPG developer working in an AS/400 shop.

We have a statement print program that uses drawer pulls for different form types. One of the forms are labels. The report is printed on a Xerox Workcentre Pro 255 copy machine.

Is there any way to program via the DDS the type of paper stock to use? Currently the drawer is set to plain paper. I've tried changing the stock type to something other than plain paper but it produces an error message on the printer. It knows it should be plain paper. Lots of times, the labels jam since the form is thicker than plain paper.

There must be some way via keywords to specify the paper stock.

Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Drawer Pulls & Paper Stock

Well, there's the FORMTYPE parameter on the Create Printer File (CRTPRTF) command. It specifies the type of form on which the output is printed. The default is *STD, which means whatever the deault paper type is for the printer. You can define your own form type of, say, "LABELS" and use that for the FORMTYPE parameter when you create your PRTF object. Then, when the labels get printed, a message will be sent to the OUTQ operator/manager that tells them to change the form type in the printer before continuing.

Does that do it for you?
    "Time passes, but sometimes it beats the <crap> out of you as it goes."

Comment

Re: Drawer Pulls &amp; Paper Stock

I am familiar with the FORMTYPE parameter and am using it with this program.

However the issue is specifying the paper stock I wish to use and conveying it to the printer. When I check the settings of each drawer, it states it's using plain paper.

I need to communicate to the printer to change the stock to labels.

Thanks for your help.

Comment