PDA

View Full Version : iSeries Green Screen



Veerasekar
March 18th, 2010, 02:57 AM
I have installed the iSeries Operation console in the Windows XP system.
I tried to make a connection for the iSeries, it didn't opened the Green Screen.
How do solve this issue?

FaStOnE
March 18th, 2010, 08:52 AM
Let's see .. where to begin.

1- Is this a New i5 system?
2- Can you ping it from the desktop?
3- Is it a direct connect or through at network?
4- Access? Rumba? Mocoa? OpsNav? Telnet?
5- Is i5 IP'd?
6- Can other machines see/run jobs on the i5?
7- Does it already have a console now?
8- Are you replacing the 5250 console with a PC?
9- Will Joanie and Chachie ever get back together?

Otherwise ... your best bet is...

1-800-IBM-Serv

MichaelCatalani
March 18th, 2010, 10:23 AM
Let's see .. where to begin.

1- Is this a New i5 system?
2- Can you ping it from the desktop?
3- Is it a direct connect or through at network?
4- Access? Rumba? Mocoa? OpsNav? Telnet?
5- Is i5 IP'd?
6- Can other machines see/run jobs on the i5?
7- Does it already have a console now?
8- Are you replacing the 5250 console with a PC?
9- Will Joanie and Chachie ever get back together?



Probably not. I saw an interview with them about a year ago. She's still seriously po'ed at him. :)

Veerasekar
March 18th, 2010, 09:00 PM
Let's see .. where to begin.

1- Is this a New i5 system?
2- Can you ping it from the desktop?
3- Is it a direct connect or through at network?
4- Access? Rumba? Mocoa? OpsNav? Telnet?
5- Is i5 IP'd?
6- Can other machines see/run jobs on the i5?
7- Does it already have a console now?
8- Are you replacing the 5250 console with a PC?
9- Will Joanie and Chachie ever get back together?

Otherwise ... your best bet is...

1-800-IBM-Serv

Hi,

I have installed System i Operations console in the Windows 2000. It was used to connect iSeries Green console. It was working fine. Now, the windows 2000 system is hardware problem, it is probably dead. So, I tried to Install System i Operations console in Windows XP system. GreenScreen unable to open.
A day later today, I tried to ping AS400 console, it was failed. I tried to use System i Navigator,
the error message "CWBCO1048- A firewall blockage or time-out occured trying to connect to the system i" appeared.

what is the possible ways to solve this issue?

-Veera

Veerasekar
March 18th, 2010, 09:01 PM
Hi,

I have installed System i Operations console in the Windows 2000. It was used to connect iSeries Green console. It was working fine. Now, the windows 2000 system is hardware problem, it is probably dead. So, I tried to Install System i Operations console in Windows XP system. GreenScreen unable to open.
A day later today, I tried to ping AS400 console, it was failed. I tried to use System i Navigator,
the error message "CWBCO1048- A firewall blockage or time-out occured trying to connect to the system i" appeared.

what is the possible ways to solve this issue?

-Veera

tomholden
March 19th, 2010, 07:45 AM
make sure that the windows firewall is turned off and try again...

FaStOnE
March 19th, 2010, 09:00 AM
Per personal experience, I know that there were issues using the XP operating system and the OpsCon. I ended up having to get a Win2k system to work. If you previously had a PC working as the console, then as long as you IP it the same and connect it properly... it should bring up the program. Not a whole lot of bells and whistles there. The biggest pain in the buttocks is the Panel and having to switch the connection type of the console... but, you shouldn't have to worry about that.

I would say grab a laptop or desktop that has Win2k or something other than XP... load the OpsCon on it and configure it ... just to see if it makes the connection. I'm guessing it will. Then, you can make the decision to put something in its place without XP.

The XP conversations I had with IBM while doing just this were all geared toward not using XP due to "issues" (whatever they are). They said sometimes they can get them to work, other times they can't.

hth